Needs, pain, and grace

I read an interesting note today that has me thinking…alot. 

“I don’t need you” is the language of the wounded heart.  Needs give us the capacity to experience love.” – True Faced

This is one of those moments when it feels like God is doing everything to say, “Um, Jim?  I’m talking to you.”  How many of us have experienced the pain of feeling betrayed by a friend, family member, boss, co-worker, or pastor?  I personally have distanced myself from some of the dearest people I’ve ever known because of such feelings.  Who among us hasn’t?

Now please keep in mind that I’m not talking about someone who has intentionally inflicted such a wound that to withdraw and sever the relationship was  necessary for safety’s sake and the wise thing to do.  That’s a different matter.  I’m talking about the very real hurt experienced when either by action or by word you feel, “Your friendship is no longer valued” or “I don’t need you”.

Ok, we’ve all been there.  Now what?  Well, what example do you think I found?  The only thing I could think of was the relationship between Christ and his disciples.  Christ lived with Judas for years prior to the night of the betrayal.  He knew what the man was doing (stealing) and would do (betray him).  Yet, Judas was afforded the same treatment and love given to all the disciples. 

Stay with me, here is the cool part, the “Needs give us the capacity to experience love” part.  My pain, my sin, my messed up fouled up hurt…is the opportunity to experience grace that I so long for.  It isn’t about cleaning myself up or getting my life right.  It’s about going to God and saying, “God I CAN’T do anything about this.  I CAN’T fix this.”  Now the hard part.  Instead of trying to do something to fix it, what happens if I trust God to fix it?  Scripture says, it is impossible to please God without trusting Him.  His greatest command is to love Him and to love others.  What if, like Christ, I concentrate on showing love even toward those who have inflicted great pain.  If we concentrate on that and believe Him for the rest…I wonder what will happen to this hurt we feel?

It isn’t easy to show grace but then again, things of great value are rarely easy.

One response to “Needs, pain, and grace

  1. Jimmy – TrueFaced is one of my favorites! Sat next to John Lynch on a Flight from Phoenix a few years ago. Favorite part of the book is the “New Testament Gamble.” Awesome! Trust all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

